Chrissi, an island 7km long with a maximum width of 2 km, is located 8 nautical miles south of Ierapetra Crete. The shores of Chrissi surrounded by the Mediterranean's south Cretan sea.
Exotic natural landscape dominated by cedar, the golden sand and the light aquamarine water, give the visitor a newfound sense of liberation.
A walk in the woods, swimming in crystal clear water combined with the soft smell of cedar and fresh oxygen, complete the holiday experience of the visitor, offering him a deep relaxation feeling that becomes unforgettable. This is the reason why chrissi island welcomes more and more visitors from around the world every summer.
For six months a year - from mid-May until late October there are timetables with small boats, departing from the ports of Ierapetra and Makrigialos, to the island on a daily basis.
Chrissi island is protected by Natura 2000 Networking Programme, as an "area of intense natural beauty", and also has been designated as a wildlife refuge. The island hosts the largest naturally formed Lebanon cedar forest in Europe. The majority of trees have an average age of 200 years and average height of up to 7 metres, some of the trees are up to 300 years old and 10 metres tall. The density is approximately 28 trees per hectare. The contact with such a natural and unique environment, creates environmental awareness, but also requires respect for its natural functions.
The Milona Gorge is a gorge, situated near the village of Agios Ioannis, in the municipally of Ierapetra in Crete. There is a 2-3 minute drive from Coriva Beach hotel till the walking path before the gorge. It has a large waterfall at the end of the walking path. The walking path is only a 20-minute walk from the road and it is quite easy to follow. At the end of the path, you will find the 40-metre height fall of Milona.
The fort Kales was built by the Venetians in the 13th century AD, to protect the town of Ierapetra from its enemies. In 1508 it was destroyed by an earthquake and the Turkish raids. The damage was not repaired, perhaps because it was very serious and there was no funding.
When the town of Ierapetra was occupied by the Turks in 1647, the castle was repaired and used for the defence of the town. The name Kales comes from this period, since it comes from the Turkish word “kule”, which means tower.
All these years Kales dominates the entrance to the old harbour of Ierapetra, witnessing the history of the city. Today you can visit the castle and watch the cultural events organised by the local municipality.